Koppell inducted into National Academy of Public Administration

November 30, 2012

Jonathan Koppell, dean of ASU’s College of Public Programs and director of its School of Public Affairs, was formally inducted as a National Academy of Public Administration (NAPA) Fellow on Nov. 15.

“Being recognized as a NAPA Fellow alongside the other accomplished scholars and practitioners of public management is a tremendous honor,” said Dean Koppell, one of 44 NAPA Fellows initiated in this fall.   Download Full Image

Established in 1967 and chartered by Congress as an independent, nonprofit organization, the academy aims to provide non-partisan expert advice to assist government leaders in building more effective, efficient, accountable and transparent organizations.

“We had an exceptionally strong set of nominations for Academy Fellows this year,” said B.J. Reed, chair of the nominating committee, in a press release. “The nominating committee had a difficult charge to identify those who should be chosen to go forward for election and carried it out with a high degree of professionalism and skill.”

As a part of the prestigious organization, Koppell joins the ranks of more than 730 Academy Fellows – among them, former cabinet officers, members of Congress, governors, mayors and state legislators, as well as prominent scholars, business executives and public administrators.

“The academy is honored to add these leaders in public administration to its ranks,” said Dan Blair, president and CEO of the academy, in a news release announcing the new class. “Elected by their peers, these inductees will drive the important work of the academy in addressing emerging issues in government.”

A published author and highly regarded academic, Koppell’s research interests include government involvement in for-profit enterprise; global regulatory institutions, including international financial regulatory bodies; federal insurance, loan and credit guarantee programs; regulation of financial institutions; and corporate governance, including issues related to government ownership and shareholder activism.

He said he is looking forward to working with the organization to help drive forward its goal of “bettering administration of government organizations to serve our communities more effectively.”

Other ASU leaders in the academy include ASU President Michael Crow and James Svara, professor and director of the Center for Urban Innovation within the School of Public Affairs.

ASU-Mayo seed grants support new health studies

November 30, 2012

Arizona State University and Mayo Clinic have announced the recipients of the 2013 ASU Mayo Seed Grant Program, which provides funding for collaborative research projects between the two institutions. The winning research teams will study health issues that include obesity, brain tumors, heart disease, breast cancer, and a rare but debilitating upper respiratory condition.

The seed grant program began in 2005 and has funded 49 projects, including this year’s five recipients. Each of the research teams will receive $40,000 to initiate studies that will improve human health. The goal of the program is to move projects far enough along that they can attract more substantial funding from outside agencies in the future. Download Full Image

“This is a unique collaboration between basic researchers, clinical researchers and clinicians at Mayo Clinic and ASU, which helps accelerate basic discoveries to practice,” said Sethuraman “Panch” Panchanathan, senior vice president for Knowledge Enterprise Development at ASU. “The partnership has already resulted in a number of successful projects funded by external agencies that engage students, faculty researchers and clinicians. We are very excited to embark on our next round of studies.”

The winning proposals are judged on five criteria. They must be scientifically interesting and innovative, have valid methodology, show collaborative effort, offer the likelihood of future funding or collaboration, and be feasible to complete within the project period.

"The ASU-Mayo seed grant awards have deepened and broadened our already substantive links in research. This year was our most competitive to date and the awards are a testament to the advantages of bringing together ASU and Mayo faculty to tackle significant health related issues,” said Keith Stewart, dean for research at Mayo Clinic Arizona.

The 2013 studies and their primary investigators are:

• “Effects of Single- and Dual-Disc Mechanical Mitral Valves and their Rotational Orientation on Patient-Specific Cardiac Flow Dynamic and Thrombogenic Conditions.” Ronald Adrian, School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering; Hari Chaliki, Mayo Clinic.

• “Defining the Role of Androgen Receptor in Endocrine-Resistant Breast Cancer.” Joshua LaBaer, M.D., Biodesign Institute at ASU; Barbara Pockaj, M.D., Mayo Clinic.

• “Study of Epigenetic Influences on Obese Adults Following Bariatric Surgery.” Dawn Coletta, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Lori Roust, M.D., Mayo Clinic in Arizona; James Madura II, M.D., Mayo Clinic in Arizona.

• “Idiopathic Subglottic Stenosis Tissue and Deep Sequencing Study.” Valentin Dinu, Department of Biomedical Informatics; David Lott, M.D., Mayo Clinic.

• “Affinity Maturation of an Antibody Based Therapeutic Targeting Microglial Activation.” Michael Sierks, School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering; Joseph Loftus, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine.

To learn more about collaborations between ASU and Mayo Clinic, visit our partnership site at: mayo.asu.edu

To learn about past seed grant recipients, visit: mayo.asu.edu/seed-grant-program

Media contact:
Amelia Huggins, amelia.huggins@asu.edu
Office of Knowledge Enterprise Development

Director, Knowledge Enterprise Development