High school teachers nationwide to enhance skills at ASU training program

June 17, 2013

Thirty-five high school journalism teachers from around the country will enhance their skills at Arizona State University this month, in a training program funded by the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation and operated by the American Society of News Editors.

In its seventh year at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, the two-week Reynolds High School Journalism Institute immerses teachers in specialized skills such as writing, editing, reporting, multimedia, layout and photojournalism. It also provides grounding in professional ethics, news literacy, the First Amendment and scholastic press freedom. Download Full Image

Participants, many from underrepresented high schools, are supplied with housing, meals, continuing-education credit and instructional materials free of charge.

The boot camp-style workshop is taught by Steve Elliott, director of digital news for the Cronkite School’s professional reporting program Cronkite News Service. Elliott said teachers consistently describe the Reynolds Institute as a once-in-a-lifetime experience that enhances their skills and builds lasting professional contacts.

“In addition to helping these teachers develop the next generation of journalists, this institute leads to more engaged and informed campuses back home through more vibrant student news outlets,” Elliott said.

The Reynolds High School Journalism Institute will take place in the Cronkite School’s state-of-the-art media complex in downtown Phoenix from June 16 to 28. The other Reynolds Institutes are at Kent State University; University of Missouri at Columbia; University of Nevada at Reno; and University of Texas at Austin.

The Donald W. Reynolds Foundation is a philanthropic organization founded in 1954 by the late media entrepreneur for whom it is named. Headquartered in Las Vegas, it has committed more than $150 million to journalism initiatives nationally. 

The American Society of News Editors focuses on leadership development and journalism-related issues. Founded in 1922 as a nonprofit professional organization, ASNE promotes fair, principled journalism, defends and protects First Amendment rights, and fights for freedom of information and open government. Leadership, innovation, diversity and inclusion in coverage and the journalism work force, youth journalism and the sharing of ideas are also key ASNE initiatives.

ASNE’s Youth Journalism Initiative, launched in 2000, provides journalism-related training and resources for teachers and students across the curriculum. Its goal is for every student to learn why news matters and acquire the skills needed to succeed as 21st Century citizens.

2013 Reynolds High School Journalism Institute participants:

Dave Anderson, Christian Brothers High School, Sacramento, Calif.
• Hilari Anderson, Kentridge High School, Kent, Wash.
• Maureen Barton, Sedona Red Rock High School, Sedona, Ariz.
• Laurie Bender, Kamiakin High School, Kennewick, Wash.
• Kathryn Burkholder, Pinckney Community High School, Pinckney, Mich.
• Jill Burns, Robinson Senior High School, Tampa, Fla.
• Lyn Cannaday, Greenway High School, Phoenix
• Greg Cantwell, Sheldon High School, Eugene, Ore.
• Eva Coleman, Career and Technical Education Center (Frisco ISD), Frisco, Texas
• Scott Davis, Westville High School, Westville, Okla.
• Rudy De La Torre Pegueros, Escondido High School, Escondido, Calf.
• Julie Fales, Shawnee Mission South High School, Overland Park, Kan.
• Aaron Fitzpatrick, Freedom Area Senior High School, Freedom, Pa.
• Adrienne Forgette, Northern High School, Owings, Md.
• Tere Froelich, Sturgis Brown High School, Sturgis, S.D.
• Elizabeth Granger, Lawrence Central High School, Indianapolis
• Bonnie Katzive, Monarch High School, Louisville, Colo.
• Katie Kroeze, Lincoln High School, Sioux Falls, S.D.
• Melissa Langlois, Whitewater High School, Fayetteville, Ga.
• Sarah Anne Lanman, Munster High School, Munster, Ind.
• Tracy Marcello, Fossil Ridge High School, Fort Collins, Colo.
• Bailey Elise McBride, Bishop Kelley High School, Tulsa, Okla.
• Julieanne McClain, R.B. Hayes High School, Delaware, Ohio
• Zach McNulty, Winnetonka High School, Kansas City, Mo.
• Brandon Michaud, Winnacunnet High School, Hampton, N.H.
• Jessica Nassau, Rockville High School, Rockville, Md.
• Spencer O'Daniel, Wichita West High School, Wichita, Kan.
• Meghann Peterson, Chanhassen High School, Chanhassen, Minn.
• Lauren Gutierrez, Ray D. Corbett Jr. High School, Schertz, Texas
• Cindy Reves, McKinley High School, Honolulu,
• Lisa Shapiro, Northwest High School, Germantown, Md.
• Mike Simons, Corning-Painted Post West High School, Painted Post, N.Y.
• Solo Solorzano, Paul R. Wharton High School, Tampa, Fla.
• Karen Swortzel, Alleghany High School, Covington, Va.
• Michelle Williams, Providence High School, San Antonio

Reporter , ASU Now


New program to merge journalism, medical science

June 17, 2013

Arizona State University is launching a program designed to bring together the worlds of journalism and medical science.

The new program at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication will be led by Ed Sylvester, a longtime faculty member, national science journalist and author of five books exploring the frontiers and complexities of science and medicine for general audiences. Download Full Image

“There’s often great miscommunication when scientists try to explain their work to journalists, and journalists attempt to communicate those complex issues to readers and viewers,” Sylvester said. “Yet nothing is more important to the public than clarity in reporting on the latest discoveries in science and medicine. Our new program is designed to bridge that significant gap.”

Sylvester, who recently stepped down from his full-time faculty position to concentrate on the new initiative, serves as the mentor for the school’s innovative partnership with the Mayo Medical School, in which Mayo students take a year off from their studies in Rochester, Minn. to earn a master’s degree in mass communication at the Cronkite School.

He will continue to teach the groundbreaking course he created in 1999, Science and Medical Journalism.

Starting this fall he will deliver a new course, Collision Course – Science Intersects Journalism, which will investigate the very different backgrounds, disciplines and goals brought to the reporting of science and medical news by scientists, physicians and journalists, exploring ways to improve coverage of science and medical news. It will be part of the Cronkite School's online curriculum offered via ASU Online and will be open to all ASU students.

“We are thrilled that Professor Sylvester is taking on this critically important challenge,” said Christopher Callahan, dean of the Cronkite School. “A gifted science journalist and superb teacher, Ed is the ideal person to illuminate these complex issues. He will give both journalists and scientists deeper and new perspectives – journalists on how to cover these complex topics and scientists on how to better communicate the issues to journalists and the public.”

Joining the program as adjunct professor of medical journalism will be Joseph Sirven, professor and chairman of the Department of Neurology at Mayo Clinic Arizona. Sirven also is a health contributor and columnist for NBC Latino and editor-in-chief of Epilepsy.com.

Sylvester will work with colleagues at ASU, Mayo and other science and health organizations to develop a comprehensive package of courses and other educational offerings to improve reporting of science and medical news.

Reporter , ASU Now