Health conferences explore food safety, infectious diseases

April 9, 2010

Arizona State University’s Campus Health Service will sponsor public health workshops on food safety and infectious diseases this summer.

The Arizona Environmental Health Association will hold its annual educational conference June 2 and 3 at the Memorial Union. New food-safety regulations and trends in environmental health are among topics that will be covered during the conference. Industry representatives will also be present to introduce their new products. Continuing education credits are available for attendees. Download Full Image

The Arizona Department of Health Services will hold an Infectious Disease Training Workshop July 27-29 at the Memorial Union. Participants will be introduced to a wide variety of infectious disease topics from hospital-acquired infections to Rocky Mountain spotted fever. A tabletop exercise will focus on responding to a food-borne illness outbreak. ASU’s Campus Health Service is a co-sponsor of the workshop.

For information on registering for the workshops, contact ASU Campus Health Food Safety Manager Veronica Oros. Oros, who is president-elect of the Arizona Environmental Health Association, may be reached at (480) 965-6853 or veronica.oros">">

Men's golf plays at Stanford

April 9, 2010

The Sun Devil men's golf team plays at the U.S. Intercollegiate April 11-13 hosted by Stanford University, its final tournament prior to hosting the Pac-10 Championship April 26-28.

Stanford Golf Course (6,727 yards; par 70) is the host course as teams will tee off on holes 1 and 10 on Sunday and Monday starting at 9 a.m. and use a 7:30 a.m. shotgun start for Tuesday's final round. Teams will play 18 holes each day. Download Full Image

The field
Arizona State, California, Denver, Fresno State, Hawaii, Lamar, Long Beach State, Oregon, Oregon State, Pepperdine, San Diego State, San Francisco, San Jose State, Stanford, UC Davis, UC Irvine, UCLA, USC, Washington and Washington State make up the field.

Last year
Washington won the 2009 title with a 36-under 804, while Husky Nick Taylor won the individual title with a 12-under 198.

Past Sun Devil winners at this tournament
Sun Devil Billy Mayfair won the title in the spring of 1987...ASU took home the team title in 1994 as Todd Demsey shot a 210 to take the individual title...Pat Moore shot a 208 to take the individual title in 2004.