ASU instructors place high school students FIRST

March 8, 2010

ASU’s School of Letters and Sciences is mentoring local youth in a national robotics competition designed to inspire future leaders in science and technology.

For the third year in a row, ASU lecturers John Olson and Cayle Lisenbee will mentor students from Phoenix’s North High School to compete in the FIRST Robotics Competition 2010 Arizona Regional. The event will be held March 11-13 at Veterans Memorial Coliseum, 1865 W. McDowell Road, Phoenix. Download Full Image

“The FIRST program provides an excellent opportunity for ASU faculty and resources to contribute positively to the development of teachers and students in Phoenix’s urban high schools,” said Cayle Lisenbee, a lecturer with the School of Letters and Sciences. “It’s infectious to watch talented high school students apply principles of science and technology to relevant, real world problems. These activities will pay big dividends to Arizona’s communities in the future.”

Students from grades nine through twelve design and build robots that will participate in a theme competition. This year’s theme is “Breakaway”, a game that requires robots to navigate a field of obstacles and score points by kicking or rolling a soccer ball through a goal. Forty-three regional competitions in the U.S., Canada, and Israel will lead up to the 2010 FIRST Championship at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Georgia, April 15-17.

The mission of the organization is to motivate and inspire the next generation of innovators by engaging them in exciting mentor-based programs that build science, engineering and technology skills.

The FIRST Robotics Competition began in 1992 with 28 teams in a New Hampshire high school gym. This season more than 1,800 teams will participate for $12 million in college scholarships and prizes.

For more information about the FIRST Robotics Competition Arizona Regional, visit

">"> Contact:
Cayle S. Lisenbee, 
Faculty Lecturer
School of Letters and Sciences
(602) 496-0641

Reporter , ASU Now


Sendek named Pac-10 Coach of the Year

March 8, 2010

Sun Devil head coach Herb">">Herb Sendek has been named the Pac-10 Coach of the Year. He becomes the second Sun Devil to earn Pac-10 Coach of the Year, joining Ned Wulk in 1979-1980.

Junior wing Ty">">Ty Abbott has earned a spot on the 10-man All-Pac-10 first-team and Trent">">T... Lockett has earned a spot on the five-man Pac-10 All-Freshman Team. Download Full Image

Sendek has led ASU to its third straight 20-win season, marking the first time since 1961-1963 that ASU has posted three straight 20-win seasons. ASU was 21-13 in 2007-2008, 25-10 last year and is 22-9 this year. He also led ASU to a 12-6 second-place finish in the Pac-10 – its highest finish since 1980-1981.

He also won the Coach of the Year Award in the MAC (1994-1995 at Miami of Ohio) and in the ACC (2003-2004 at NC State).

In the 18 league games, Abbott finished ninth in the loop in scoring (14.7 points per game), 11th in rebounding (5.7 rpg.), ninth in free throw percentage (.818 as he was 36-of-44), fourth in three-point percentage (.411 as he was 53-of-129), second in three-pointers made per game (2.9) and sixth in defensive rebounds per game (5.0).

Lockett, from Golden Valley, Minn., has played in all 31 games and started in 15 and averaged 20.4 minutes per game. He averaged 7.0 points and 3.6 rebounds and shot 75-of-155 (.484) from the floor. He posted double digit scoring numbers in five Pac-10 contests, including 17 points, six boards and eight assists vs. Stanford on Jan. 30.

Derek">">D... Glasser earned honorable mention honors while Eric">">Eric Boateng earned all-defensive team honorable mention honors.

Sun Devil Pac-10 all freshman selections (ASU head coach noted)
Trent">">T... Lockett, 2009-10 (Herb">">Herb Sendek)
James">">James Harden, 2007-08 (Herb">">Herb Sendek)
Jeff"> Pendergraph, 2005-06 (Rob">">Rob Evans)
Ike">">Ike Diogu (Freshman of the Year), 2002-03 (Rob">">Rob Evans)
Eddie">">Eddie House, 1996-97 (Bill Frieder)
Ron Riley, 1992-93 (Bill Frieder)
Mario Bennett, 1991-92 (Bill Frieder)
Dwayne Fontana, 1990-91 (Bill Frieder)
Jamal Faulkner (Freshman of the Year), 1990-91 (Bill Frieder)
Chris Sandle, 1984-85 (Bob Weinhauer)
Steve Beck, 1983-84 (Bob Weinhauer)
Byron">">Byron Scott (Freshman of the Year), 1979-80 (Ned Wulk)