Cutting-edge theater company comes to ASU

October 25, 2016

The inventive theater company 600 HIGHWAYMEN has been lauded by the New York Times, American Theatre Magazine, the Wall Street Journal and other publications for its performances, which offer a new way of seeing for today and explore a radical approach to making live art. New Yorker theater critic Hilton Als once declared, “I wish to hear anything that 600 Highwaymen has to say.”

What 600 HIGHWAYMEN has to say now is something the ASU community and surrounding areas can see for themselves when this cutting-edge theater company performs its new work “The Fever” for eight nights at the Galvin Playhouse as part of a residency with the School of Film, Dance and Theatre. Scenes from The Fever The Fever is performed in complete collaboration with the audience. Photo by Maddie McGarvey/600 HIGHWAYMEN Download Full Image

“I think this is one of the most exciting events happening in our school this year,” said Lance Gharavi, assistant director of theater.

Abigail Browde and Michael Silverstone, the artists behind the award-winning 600 HIGHWAYMEN, have made six original works since 2009. They aim to construct performances that illuminate the inherent poignancy and theatricality of people together. With “The Fever,” they examine how we assemble, organize and care for the bodies around us. Performed in complete collaboration with the audience, it tests the limits of individual and collective responsibility and our willingness to be there for one another.

“We're thrilled to be hosted by ASU and to preview our new work,” Silverstone said. “Audiences will experience brand-new writing and will become an essential part of our development process.”

With the shows at Galvin, 600 HIGHWAYMEN offers audiences an early chance to experience “The Fever” before it premieres in The Public Theater’s Under the Radar Festival in New York in January. Since the nightly performances are part of the development process for the piece, any future production of “The Fever” will include mention of it being developed in part at ASU.

“We are a forward-thinking school, and now the ASU name will be tied to this performance by a forward-thinking theater company,” Gharavi said.

In addition to the performances, 600 HIGHWAYMEN will be working directly with ASU students in workshops and working groups.

“I think our students, most of them will never have seen art like this — mind-expanding art,” Gharavi said.

How to watch

The show runs Oct. 27 – 30 and Nov. 2 – 5 at 8 p.m. each night. Performances are free and open to the public, but seating is extremely limited. To reserve your ticket, call the Herberger Institute Box Office at 480-965-6447. Performances are part of a residency partnership between 600 HIGHWAYMEN; The Public Theater in New York; ASU’s School of Film, Dance and Theatre; and ASU Gammage.

Sarah A. McCarty

Marketing and communications coordinator, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts


Cohort of new fellows chosen for ASU-hosted Academy for Innovative Higher Education Leadership

October 25, 2016

Twenty-nine senior leaders from more than two dozen universities, including Oregon State, Stanford, the University of Central Florida, Notre Dame, and Wake Forest have been selected as fellows in the fourth cohort of the Academy for Innovative Higher Education Leadership, co-hosted by Arizona State University and Georgetown University.

The eight-month program, which begins Nov. 2 and takes place at Georgetown and ASU, focuses on preparing the fellows to lead organizational change at colleges and universities. Download Full Image

During four intensive sessions in the District of Columbia and Tempe, Arizona, fellows at the academy will be introduced to the latest thinking and research about change leadership, teaching and learning in a digital age, external challenges facing higher education and the financial sustainability of institutions.

Participants also will apply the principles of “design thinking” to re-imagine the future of higher education, and will focus on a real-world project during the program. A mix of seminars, hands-on workshops, design sessions and fireside chats with leading thinkers from various industries will help the fellows prepare for leading innovation at their own institutions.

Academy faculty members represent a cross-section of higher education scholars and leaders from other sectors, such as health care and the military, that are facing similar challenges.

This year's fellows are:

Kenneth A. Baerenklau
Associate Provost     
Office of the Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
University of California at Riverside

Matt Dane Baker
Philadelphia University          

Angela Batista
Interim Chief Diversity Officer
Oregon State University

Susie Brubaker-Cole
Vice Provost for Student Affairs
Oregon State University        

Laura Carlson
Vice President, Associate Provost, Dean of the Graduate School
University of Notre Dame     

Brendan Healy Chisholm       
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Management
Office of the Chancellor
University of Massachusetts Medical School

Kim Coplin
Denison University     

Lenore L. Dai 
School Director
Arizona State University, Fulton Schools of Engineering, School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy

Sandip Darji
Senior Director, Business Process and Metrics Analysis
Financial Management Consulting and Support
Stanford University

Jennifer Dennis         
Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School
Oregon State University        

Hesham El-Rewini
Dean of Engineering 
University of North Dakota    

Bonnie Ferri
Associate Chair and Professor
College of Engineering, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering    
Georgia Institute of Technology

Laura D. Hanish         
Deputy Director
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, T. Denny Sanford School of Social and Family Dynamics
Arizona State University        

Craig Hoffman
Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives       
Georgetown University Law School   

Pamela Jackson       
School of Business and Economics
Fayetteville State University

Lisa Jones
Associate Provost for Strategy and Special Assistant to the President
University of Central Florida

Laurel Kennedy         
Vice President Student Development
Denison University     

Phyllis R. Kloda          
College of Fine and Applied Arts
Appalachian State University

Cameron McCoy
Associate Vice President
Office of Economic Engagement
Lehigh University       

Kemille S. Moore
Associate Dean for Student Policy and Curriculum
College of Arts and Sciences
University of North Carolina Wilmington     

George J. Petersen
Founding Dean
College of Education
Clemson University    

Susana Rivera-Mills
Vice Provost and Dean for Undergraduate Studies
Oregon State University        

Catherine Ross
Executive Director
The Teaching and Learning Center
Wake Forest University

Timothy M. Schlak    
University Library
Robert Morris University       

Patricia Sobecky        
Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
University of Alabama           

Anne Sweeney
Senior Director of Financial Information Systems & Reporting and Client Advocacy & Education
Financial Management Consulting and Support
Stanford University

Clifton Tanabe          
Chief of Staff, Office of the President
University of Hawaii at Manoa

Robert W. Wagner
Executive Vice Provost & Dean
Academic and Instructional Services
Utah State University

Noel Wilkins 
Senior Associate Provost
University of Mississippi

For more information, go to