Cohort of new fellows chosen for ASU-hosted Academy for Innovative Higher Education Leadership

October 25, 2016

Twenty-nine senior leaders from more than two dozen universities, including Oregon State, Stanford, the University of Central Florida, Notre Dame, and Wake Forest have been selected as fellows in the fourth cohort of the Academy for Innovative Higher Education Leadership, co-hosted by Arizona State University and Georgetown University.

The eight-month program, which begins Nov. 2 and takes place at Georgetown and ASU, focuses on preparing the fellows to lead organizational change at colleges and universities. Download Full Image

During four intensive sessions in the District of Columbia and Tempe, Arizona, fellows at the academy will be introduced to the latest thinking and research about change leadership, teaching and learning in a digital age, external challenges facing higher education and the financial sustainability of institutions.

Participants also will apply the principles of “design thinking” to re-imagine the future of higher education, and will focus on a real-world project during the program. A mix of seminars, hands-on workshops, design sessions and fireside chats with leading thinkers from various industries will help the fellows prepare for leading innovation at their own institutions.

Academy faculty members represent a cross-section of higher education scholars and leaders from other sectors, such as health care and the military, that are facing similar challenges.

This year's fellows are:

Kenneth A. Baerenklau
Associate Provost     
Office of the Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
University of California at Riverside

Matt Dane Baker
Philadelphia University          

Angela Batista
Interim Chief Diversity Officer
Oregon State University

Susie Brubaker-Cole
Vice Provost for Student Affairs
Oregon State University        

Laura Carlson
Vice President, Associate Provost, Dean of the Graduate School
University of Notre Dame     

Brendan Healy Chisholm       
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Management
Office of the Chancellor
University of Massachusetts Medical School

Kim Coplin
Denison University     

Lenore L. Dai 
School Director
Arizona State University, Fulton Schools of Engineering, School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy

Sandip Darji
Senior Director, Business Process and Metrics Analysis
Financial Management Consulting and Support
Stanford University

Jennifer Dennis         
Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School
Oregon State University        

Hesham El-Rewini
Dean of Engineering 
University of North Dakota    

Bonnie Ferri
Associate Chair and Professor
College of Engineering, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering    
Georgia Institute of Technology

Laura D. Hanish         
Deputy Director
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, T. Denny Sanford School of Social and Family Dynamics
Arizona State University        

Craig Hoffman
Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives       
Georgetown University Law School   

Pamela Jackson       
School of Business and Economics
Fayetteville State University

Lisa Jones
Associate Provost for Strategy and Special Assistant to the President
University of Central Florida

Laurel Kennedy         
Vice President Student Development
Denison University     

Phyllis R. Kloda          
College of Fine and Applied Arts
Appalachian State University

Cameron McCoy
Associate Vice President
Office of Economic Engagement
Lehigh University       

Kemille S. Moore
Associate Dean for Student Policy and Curriculum
College of Arts and Sciences
University of North Carolina Wilmington     

George J. Petersen
Founding Dean
College of Education
Clemson University    

Susana Rivera-Mills
Vice Provost and Dean for Undergraduate Studies
Oregon State University        

Catherine Ross
Executive Director
The Teaching and Learning Center
Wake Forest University

Timothy M. Schlak    
University Library
Robert Morris University       

Patricia Sobecky        
Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
University of Alabama           

Anne Sweeney
Senior Director of Financial Information Systems & Reporting and Client Advocacy & Education
Financial Management Consulting and Support
Stanford University

Clifton Tanabe          
Chief of Staff, Office of the President
University of Hawaii at Manoa

Robert W. Wagner
Executive Vice Provost & Dean
Academic and Instructional Services
Utah State University

Noel Wilkins 
Senior Associate Provost
University of Mississippi

For more information, go to

Sun Devil Football Returns to Eugene for First Time Since 2011

October 25, 2016

Sun Devil Football will return to action Saturday with a trip to Eugene, Ore., to face the Oregon Ducks at Autzen Stadium. The game is scheduled for a 2 p.m. AZT kickoff and will be broadcast live on the Pac-12 Networks. Roxy Bernstein, Anthony Herron and Lewis Johnson will provide the call. Download Full Image